The Hägersten Chamber Choir

Is a mixed choir with around 35 members, founded in 1995 in the parish of Hägersten, Stockholm, Sweden, by Kerstin Börjeson. The choir is very versatile, but focuses on early music, contemporary music and scenic performances.

Early music

The choir has performed Claudio Monteverdi’s Vespro della beate Vergine, Christmas music by Michael Praetorius, and the major choral works by J S Bach are mainstays of the repertoire. Mozart’s Requiem Mass and Mass in c-minor as well as the Requiems by Verdi, Brahms and Fauré are also integral parts of the repertoire.

Contemporary music

The choir has premiered a number of contemporary works. A long standing co-operation with the composer Jesper Nordin has resulted in recordings and radio performances. Another source of contemporary music is the co-operation with the composition class at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm.

Scenic performances

The tradition of scenic performances started in 2002 with a piece, composed in the 1970s by the Swedish composer Torsten Nilsson, Nox Angustiae. Scenic versions of Bach’s St John’s Passion and St Matthew’s passion have received much acclaim.

Two examples of the way the choir works with collaboration projects are the recurring co-operation with prominent jazz pianist and composer Elise Einarsdotter and bass player Olle Steinholtz and the joint tour in 2011 with pianists Monica and Carl-Axel Dominique.

In September 2012 the choir will perform a contemporary concert of custom composed music with jazz musicians Elise, Olle and world renowned Swedish soprano saxophone player Anders Paulsson.

Our conductor 2022–  : Oskar Timm

Our conductor 2021-2022: Lisa Carr

Our founder and conductor 1995-2021: Kerstin Börjeson

Studied at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm. Among her teachers were professor Eric Ericsson and professor Anders Eby. Since 1994 she works at Uppenbarelsekyrkan i Hägersten where she is an organ player and choir conductor.

In 2009, Kerstin Börjeson received the St Cecilia Price, awarded by the diocese of Stockholm in recognition of her outstanding accomplishments in the parish of Hägersten.